Frase vs Scalenut (2026): Which AI SEO Writer Is Better Value?

Updated Oct 24, 2026 Prices checked Oct 23, 2026

Affiliate disclosure: Supa may earn a commission if you sign up through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Frase pays us a recurring commission (30% for the first 12 months, with higher rates for top-performing affiliates). Scalenut pays us a recurring commission for the life of the customer (30%, or 40% at its Premium tier). Neither company reviews or approves this page, and the commission doesn't decide our verdict.

Frase and Scalenut both pitch themselves as platforms for ranking in Google and being cited by AI answer engines. Frase calls itself "the content operating system for AI search"; Scalenut calls itself a Generative Engine Optimization (GEO) platform. Both research, draft and optimize content, and both track whether ChatGPT and Google's AI features mention your brand on every plan.

Where they differ is packaging. Frase leans on automation and publishing: an agent that can draft and publish on its own, direct publishing to four CMSs, and MCP/API access on every plan. Scalenut leans on planning and scale: keyword clusters on every plan, content audits and topic gaps from Plus, and unlimited workspaces and team members on Professional.

This comparison uses only what each company publishes on its own pricing and product pages.

Quick verdict

Choose Frase for research-to-publish automation and daily AI visibility at a lower list entry price. Choose Scalenut for keyword clustering, audits and unlimited seats and domains.

Choose Frase

If you're a solo creator, freelancer or single-site team that wants one tool to research, draft, publish and monitor content, including AI search visibility across more engines. Starter is $39/mo billed yearly ($49 monthly), and the 7-day trial needs no credit card.

Try Frase free (affiliate link)

Choose Scalenut

If you're a growing team or agency that needs keyword clustering, content audits and many seats and domains in one place. Plus adds 4 team members, 2 workspaces and internal linking for $89/mo, and Professional removes workspace and team-member limits at $199/mo (monthly list prices; Scalenut is running a time-limited annual-plan discount).

Try Scalenut free (affiliate link)
FeatureFraseScalenut
Best forSolo creators, freelancers, single-site and small teamsGrowing teams, agencies and multi-domain operators
Entry price$39/mo billed yearly, $49/mo monthly (Starter)$59/mo monthly list (Starter)
Free start7-day free trial, no credit card7-day free trial ("Try 7 days for free"); card requirement not stated on the pricing page

Comparison table

FeatureFraseScalenut
PlansStarter, Professional, Scale, EnterpriseStarter, Plus, Professional, VIP Service (custom, done-for-you)
Entry priceStarter: $39/mo yearly, $49/mo monthlyStarter: $59/mo monthly list
Mid tierProfessional: $103/mo yearly, $129/mo monthlyPlus: $89/mo monthly list
Top self-serve tierScale: $239/mo yearly, $299/mo monthlyProfessional: $199/mo monthly list
Annual billing20% off the monthly ratePromo only, as of Oct 23, 2026: 65% off annual plans ($21 / $31 / $70 per month billed annually) with 3X limits; standard annual price not stated
Free trial7 days with Professional features (capped at 5 articles, 50 audit pages, 25 AI prompts, up to 3 seats); no card7 days; card requirement and trial limits not stated
New articles per month10 / 40 / 100 (Starter / Professional / Scale)5 / 30 / 75 (Starter / Plus / Professional); 3X on promo annual plans
Optimizing existing contentAudit pages: 50 / 250 / 1,000 per month; SEO and GEO scores on every plan"Optimize existing articles for GEO": 5 / 30 / 75 per month; auto optimization from Plus
Keyword research / clusteringStudies what already ranks before drafting; no separate clustering tool listedKeyword clusters: 5 / 30 / 75 per month; advanced keyword planner on Professional
Content audit and decayContent Guard watches 10 / 75 / 300 pages for Google decayGEO content audit: not on Starter, 200 pages (Plus), 1,000 pages (Professional) per month
Topic planningContent calendar from Professional; Frase Answers widget on every planTopic gaps and new topic ideas from Plus; cannibalization analysis on Professional
Internal linkingSuggestions from ProfessionalFrom Plus; AI Link Manager add-on (200 / 1,000 pages per month on Plus / Professional)
AI search visibility (GEO)Every plan, daily monitoring: ChatGPT + Google AI (Starter), + Perplexity (Professional), + Claude and Gemini (Scale); 20 / 50 / 75 promptsEvery plan, weekly refresh: ChatGPT + Google AIO (Starter, Plus), + Perplexity (Professional); 10 / 25 / 100 prompts; AI bot traffic insights on every plan
AI imagesHero image and in-content visuals per article; AI generations 25 / 100 / 350 per month25 / 100 / 300 AI images per month
AI detector / humanizerNot statedListed under add-ons on Plus and Professional: unlimited detection, 50k words/mo humanization
Brand voiceDrafts "in your voice"Unlimited tones of voice on every plan
CMS publishingWordPress, Webflow, Sanity, Wix, or free hosting on FraseCMS (every plan)Auto-publish to WordPress and Shopify (Plus and up)
Other integrations / APIMCP server and CLI on every plan; 5,000 / 20,000 / 50,000 API, MCP and CLI requests per monthSemrush and Copyscape (Plus and up); API and MCP not stated
Team seats1 / 3 / 5, extra seats $29/moNot listed on Starter / 4 / unlimited
Sites / domains1 / 5 / 10 domains1 / 2 / unlimited workspaces (one domain per workspace)
Going over limitsStarter stops at its limit; optional pay-as-you-go on Professional and ScaleNot stated on the pricing page
SupportDedicated account manager and SLA on EnterpriseEmail and live chat on every plan; videos and live webinars for onboarding; dedicated CSM and priority support on Professional
White-labelEnterprise onlyNot stated
Pricing checkedOct 23, 2026Oct 23, 2026

Pricing and value

At list prices, Frase is cheaper to start and gives more articles on the entry plan. Frase Starter costs $39 a month billed yearly ($49 month to month) for 10 articles. Scalenut Starter costs $59 a month for 5 articles.

In the middle the picture flips. Scalenut Plus costs $89 a month and includes 30 articles, 4 team members, 2 workspaces, content audits and internal linking. Frase Professional costs $103 a month billed yearly ($129 monthly) for 40 articles, 3 seats and 5 domains.

At the top, Scalenut Professional ($199 a month) has unlimited workspaces and team members but 75 articles. Frase Scale ($239 a month billed yearly, $299 monthly) caps at 10 domains and 5 seats but includes 100 articles.

The units aren't identical. Frase counts finished articles and meters audit pages and AI generations separately. Scalenut counts new GEO articles, optimized existing articles and keyword clusters as separate quotas. Compare the quotas you'll actually use, not just the headline article count.

Scalenut promotion (as of Oct 23, 2026): Scalenut's pricing page is running a "Black Friday Early Access Deal 2026": 65% off annual plans plus 3X limits. That works out to $21 / $31 / $70 a month billed annually for Starter / Plus / Professional, with 15 / 90 / 225 articles a month. Scalenut says the offer is for annual plans only, has limited slots and is non-refundable. It doesn't state an end date. Monthly plans stay at $59 / $89 / $199. While it lasts, Scalenut's annual plans undercut Frase at every tier; check the current terms on Scalenut's site before you buy.

How billing behaves also differs:

  • Frase: Starter stops at its monthly limits, so there's no surprise bill. On Professional and Scale you can switch on pay-as-you-go: $5 per extra article, $0.50 per audit page and $0.25 per AI prompt on Professional, and $4, $0.40 and $0.20 on Scale. Yearly billing takes 20% off the monthly rate.
  • Scalenut: The pricing page doesn't describe overage charges or a standard (non-promo) annual price. Promo deals are non-refundable, according to Scalenut's FAQ.

Edge: Frase at list prices for a single site on a budget. Scalenut for multi-site teams, and on price at every tier while its annual promo runs.

Content creation and AI writing

Frase describes a research-first workflow. It studies what already ranks for your topic, then drafts and optimizes the piece in your voice, delivering a finished draft rather than an outline. On every plan, an agent can draft and auto-publish any content type once you switch it on. Each article can include a generated hero image and in-content visuals. From Professional you also get AI diagrams and infographics (20 a month, 50 on Scale) and "omni-channel atomization," which turns one piece into posts for other channels.

Scalenut builds its writing around "ready-to-rank GEO articles," with all GEO content creation features on every plan. Every plan includes unlimited tones of voice and a monthly allowance of AI images (25 / 100 / 300). Plus and Professional list an AI Detector & Humanizer under add-ons, with unlimited detection and 50,000 words of humanization a month.

Neither company publishes independent quality benchmarks on its pricing page. Draft quality will depend on your topic, brief and editing.

Edge: Frase if you want hands-off drafting and publishing. Scalenut if you want tone-of-voice control and a built-in humanizer.

Content optimization and SEO scoring

Frase scores pages for both SEO and GEO (generative engine optimization) on every plan, and you can watch those in-app scores move as you apply fixes. Audit pages (50 / 250 / 1,000 a month) let you score existing content. Internal linking suggestions start at Professional.

Scalenut gives a separate monthly quota for optimizing existing articles for GEO (5 / 30 / 75). From Plus it adds auto optimization, internal linking, topic gaps and recommendations, plus "On-page Pro" (200 pages a month on Plus, 1,000 on Professional, listed under add-ons). Professional adds cannibalization analysis.

The two tools score content in different ways, so their numbers can't be compared directly.

Edge: Scalenut from Plus upward, for the depth of its optimization and audit toolkit. Frase on the entry plan, where Scalenut Starter has no audit, auto optimization or internal linking.

Research, keyword planning and briefs

Scalenut includes keyword clustering on every plan (5 / 30 / 75 clusters a month), new topic ideas and topic gaps from Plus, and an advanced keyword planner and cannibalization analysis on Professional. It also integrates with Semrush from Plus.

Frase starts research from your own site with Frase Answers, a free conversational widget (one per site) that captures the questions your visitors ask so you can create content for them. It studies what already ranks before it drafts, and Professional adds a content calendar. Frase's pricing page doesn't list a separate keyword research or clustering tool.

Edge: Scalenut for structured keyword research and clustering. Frase for first-party, question-led ideas from your own visitors.

AI search (GEO) visibility

Both tools track whether AI engines mention or cite your brand on every plan, but the allowances differ.

  • Frase includes AI Visibility on every plan, with daily monitoring and alerts:
    • Starter: ChatGPT and Google AI, 20 prompts.
    • Professional: adds Perplexity, 50 prompts, plus AI crawler monitoring.
    • Scale: adds Claude and Gemini, 75 prompts.
    • Frase notes that AI Visibility monitors and alerts but never auto-fixes content.
  • Scalenut includes AI visibility tracking on every plan, refreshed weekly:
    • Starter: ChatGPT and Google AIO, 10 prompts.
    • Plus: ChatGPT and Google AIO, 25 prompts.
    • Professional: adds Perplexity, 100 prompts.
    • VIP Service: all engines, custom limits.
    • AI bot traffic insights are on every plan.

Edge: Frase for engine coverage and daily refresh at a lower price. Scalenut Professional for the larger prompt count at the top self-serve tier.

Ease of use and workflow

Frase's pricing page centers on a single loop. It finds questions, drafts, publishes to your CMS, audits existing pages, and catches decaying pages with Content Guard. Content Guard writes a fix and republishes it only once you approve, unless you opt in to automatic low-risk fixes.

Scalenut's workflow runs from keyword clusters to GEO articles, optimization and audits, with auto-publish from Plus. Onboarding training on every plan comes as videos and live webinars.

How quickly a new user gets comfortable isn't something either pricing page documents.

Edge: It depends on your workflow. Frase suits people who want more automation. Scalenut suits people who want to plan clusters before writing.

Integrations and publishing

Frase publishes to WordPress, Webflow, Sanity or Wix on every plan. You can also host on FraseCMS, which is free up to 100,000 page views a month, $19/mo for Basic (250,000 views, your own domain or subdirectory, no badge) and $99/mo for Pro (1,000,000 views). Frase also runs inside Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and your terminal through its MCP server and CLI on every plan, with 5,000 to 50,000 requests a month depending on tier.

Scalenut auto-publishes to WordPress and Shopify from Plus and integrates with Semrush and Copyscape from Plus. Its pricing page doesn't mention an API or MCP server.

Edge: Frase for headless and non-WordPress stacks and for API/MCP access. Scalenut if you run Shopify.

Team features and scalability

FeatureFraseScalenut
Seats1 / 3 / 5 included, extra seats $29/moNot listed on Starter / 4 / unlimited
RolesOwner, Admin, Editor, Viewer (Professional and up)Not stated on the pricing page
CollaborationShared workspace"Collaboration" on every plan; team collaboration on Professional
Sites1 / 5 / 10 domains1 / 2 / unlimited workspaces (one domain each)
ReportingCurrent only / 3 / 12 / 24 months of history; exportable client-ready reports on ScaleNot stated on the pricing page
White-labelEnterprise onlyNot stated

Edge: Scalenut for agencies that need many seats and domains. Frase for client-ready reporting on Scale.

Support

Scalenut lists email and live chat support on every plan, onboarding via videos and live webinars, and a dedicated CSM with priority support on Professional. Its VIP Service adds a dedicated strategist, a team of writers and editors, defined SLAs and weekly reports at a custom price. Frase's pricing page lists dedicated support on the FraseCMS Pro add-on and a dedicated account manager with an SLA on Enterprise. It doesn't describe support levels for its self-serve plans.

Edge: Scalenut, based on what each pricing page documents.

Pros and cons

Frase

Pros

  • Lowest list entry price: $39/mo billed yearly, with a 7-day trial and no card required
  • AI visibility on every plan with daily monitoring, covering Claude and Gemini on Scale
  • Publishes to WordPress, Webflow, Sanity and Wix, plus free FraseCMS hosting
  • MCP server, CLI and API requests included on every plan
  • Starter stops at its limits, so there are no surprise overage charges

Cons

  • Seat and domain caps on self-serve plans (5 seats, 10 domains on Scale)
  • Internal linking suggestions and the content calendar start at Professional
  • No keyword clustering tool listed
  • White-label reports are Enterprise-only

Scalenut

Pros

  • Unlimited team members and workspaces on Professional
  • Keyword clusters on every plan; audits, topic gaps and internal linking from Plus
  • Email and live chat support on every plan, dedicated CSM on Professional
  • Auto-publish to WordPress and Shopify, plus Semrush and Copyscape integrations
  • Large discount on annual plans while its current promotion runs

Cons

  • Only 5 new articles a month on Starter at list price
  • Starter has no content audit, internal linking or team members
  • AI visibility refreshes weekly, with Perplexity only on Professional
  • API, MCP and white-label aren't mentioned on the pricing page
  • Promo deals are non-refundable

Who should choose what

Choose Frase if

  • You run one site, or a few, and want the cheapest way in at list prices.
  • You want an agent that can draft and publish for you.
  • You publish to Webflow, Sanity or Wix, or want free hosting on FraseCMS.
  • You want daily AI visibility tracking across several engines.
  • You work inside Claude, ChatGPT or Cursor and want MCP access on a starter plan.

Choose Scalenut if

  • You're a growing team or agency that needs many seats and domains.
  • You plan content in keyword clusters and want audits, topic gaps and cannibalization checks in the same tool.
  • You publish to WordPress or Shopify.
  • You want live chat support on every plan and a dedicated CSM on Professional.
  • You're ready to commit to an annual plan while Scalenut's promotion runs.

Choose neither if

You mainly optimize existing pages against live SERP guidelines at volume: see Frase vs Surfer. If price is the main factor, start with our list of affordable AI writing tools.

Other options to consider

  • Surfer : An optimization-first platform with high document volume. See Frase vs Surfer.
  • Koala : A one-click AI article writer for bloggers and niche sites. See Koala vs Scalenut.
  • Neuronwriter : A low-cost content optimization editor. See NeuronWriter vs Surfer.

FAQs

Is Frase better than Scalenut?

It depends on who you are. For a solo creator on one site, Frase is cheaper to start at list prices, tracks more AI engines with daily refresh, and publishes to more CMSs. For teams and agencies that need many seats and domains, keyword clustering and content audits, Scalenut fits better.

Which is cheaper, Frase or Scalenut?

At list prices, Frase. As of Oct 23, 2026, Frase Starter is $39/mo billed yearly ($49 monthly) and Scalenut Starter is $59/mo. Scalenut's mid tier is cheaper at list ($89 vs Frase's $103 yearly). Scalenut's current annual-plan promotion ($21 / $31 / $70 a month billed annually) makes it cheaper at every tier while it lasts.

Do Frase and Scalenut have free trials?

Yes, both offer 7-day free trials. Frase says no credit card is needed and caps the trial at 5 articles, 50 audit pages, 25 AI prompts and up to 3 seats. Scalenut's pricing page doesn't say whether a card is required or what the trial includes.

Which is better for agencies?

Both have an agency path. Scalenut Professional ($199/mo monthly list) includes unlimited workspaces and team members, a dedicated CSM and cannibalization analysis. Frase Scale ($239/mo yearly) covers up to 10 domains and 5 seats, and lets you export client-ready reports. White-label is Enterprise-only on Frase; Scalenut's pricing page doesn't mention it.

Do Frase and Scalenut track AI search visibility?

Yes, both on every plan. Frase tracks 20 to 75 prompts with daily monitoring, adding Perplexity on Professional and Claude and Gemini on Scale. Scalenut tracks 10 to 100 prompts with weekly refresh, covering ChatGPT and Google AIO and adding Perplexity on Professional.

Which publishes to more platforms?

Frase. It publishes to WordPress, Webflow, Sanity and Wix on every plan, or hosts content on FraseCMS. Scalenut auto-publishes to WordPress and Shopify from Plus.

Which is better for beginners?

Frase Starter is a single-seat plan that never charges overages, and its agent can handle drafting and publishing for you. Scalenut includes onboarding videos and live webinars plus email and live chat support on every plan. Which feels easier depends on whether you prefer automation or a guided, cluster-first workflow.

Is Scalenut's Black Friday deal worth it?

Only if you're ready to commit to a year. As of Oct 23, 2026, Scalenut offers 65% off and 3X limits on annual plans, but the deal is non-refundable and has limited slots. If you're unsure, use the 7-day trial first.

Final verdict

Frase and Scalenut both research, write and track AI search visibility. The difference is in what they emphasize.

  • Frase is the better value at list prices for solo creators and single-site teams. You get drafting, an agent that can publish for you, four CMS integrations, API/MCP access and daily AI visibility tracking from $39/mo billed yearly, with a 7-day trial and no card.
  • Scalenut fits growing teams and agencies that plan in keyword clusters and need audits, many seats and unlimited domains. Plans start at $59/mo monthly list, with a deep annual discount while its current promotion runs.

If you're unsure, start with the free Frase trial: it costs nothing and needs no card. Move to Scalenut if you need clustering, audits and seats at scale.

Sources

How we research these pages: How we test.