Frase vs Surfer (2026): Which Is Better for AI SEO Content?

Updated Oct 24, 2026 Prices checked Oct 23, 2026

Affiliate disclosure: Supa may earn a commission if you sign up through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Frase pays us a recurring commission (30% for the first 12 months, with higher rates at volume). Surfer pays us a one-time commission. Neither company reviews or approves this page, and the commission doesn't decide our verdict.

Frase and Surfer both help you write and optimize content for Google and AI answer engines like ChatGPT. On their 2026 pricing pages they now pitch themselves in similar terms: Frase calls itself "the content operating system for AI search," and Surfer's pricing page is built around winning AI search. But the two plans are put together very differently. Frase puts drafting, CMS publishing and AI visibility tracking on every plan. Surfer gives you more documents per month and a deeper set of optimization and audit features as you move up its tiers.

This comparison uses only what each company publishes on its own pricing and product pages.

Quick verdict

Choose Frase for research-first workflows and AI visibility on every plan at a lower entry price. Choose Surfer for high-volume optimization and live SERP guidelines.

Choose Frase

If you're a solo creator, freelancer or small team that wants one tool to research, draft, publish and monitor content, including AI search visibility, at the lowest entry price. Starter is $39/mo billed yearly. You can try it for 7 days without a credit card.

Try Frase free (affiliate link)

Choose Surfer

If your team creates or optimizes a lot of content and wants real-time, SERP-based guidelines with high monthly volume. Surfer's writing plans include 120 to 360 documents a month, and Peace of Mind is unlimited*. You also get audits, a topical map and cannibalization reports on higher tiers.

See Surfer plans (affiliate link)
FeatureFraseSurfer
Best forSolo creators, freelancers, single-site and small teamsContent teams and agencies optimizing at volume
Entry price$39/mo billed yearly, $49/mo monthly (Starter)$49/mo billed yearly, $59/mo monthly (Discovery)
Free start7-day free trial, no credit card"Start for Free" on every plan; trial length and limits not stated on the pricing page

Comparison table

FeatureFraseSurfer
PlansStarter, Professional, Scale, EnterpriseDiscovery, Standard, Pro, Peace of Mind, Enterprise, plus a standalone AI Search Analytics plan
Entry price (yearly / monthly billing)Starter: $39 / $49 per monthDiscovery: $49 / $59 per month
Mid tiersProfessional: $103 / $129 per monthStandard: $99 / $119; Pro: $182 / $219 per month
Top self-serve tierScale: $239 / $299 per monthPeace of Mind: $299 / $359 per month
EnterpriseCustomCustom
Yearly discount20% off the monthly rateUp to 17%
Free plan / trial7-day trial with Professional features (capped at 5 articles, 50 audit pages, 25 AI prompts, up to 3 seats); no card"Start for Free" button; terms not stated on the pricing page
Monthly content volume10 / 40 / 100 articles (Starter / Professional / Scale)120 / 360 / 360 documents (Discovery / Standard / Pro); unlimited* on Peace of Mind
AI writing / draftsResearches, drafts and optimizes "in your voice"; an agent can draft and auto-publish on every planAI Writing Assistant (Surfy) and AI Detector & Humanizer on every writing plan; Custom Voices and Templates from Pro
Content optimization / scoringSEO and GEO scores on every planAI SEO optimization guidelines and Content Score on every writing plan; 1-click content optimization from Standard
SERP / competitor researchStudies what already ranks for your topic before draftingKeyword Research from Standard; Topical Map and Content Ideas & Coverage Gap from Pro; SERP Analyzer on Peace of Mind
Content audits and decay50 / 250 / 1,000 audit pages; Content Guard watches 10 / 75 / 300 pages for Google decayContent Audit on every writing plan; tracks 10 / 50 / 200 / 500 pages; ranking drop alerts from Standard
Internal linkingSuggestions from Professional1-click internal linking from Pro
AI search visibility (GEO)Every plan: ChatGPT + Google AI (Starter), + Perplexity (Professional), + Claude and Gemini (Scale); 20 / 50 / 75 prompts, daily monitoringStandard and up: 25 prompts across ChatGPT, weekly (Standard); 50 prompts across all models, daily (Pro); 100 prompts, daily (Peace of Mind)
CMS publishing / integrationsPublishes to WordPress, Webflow, Sanity or Wix, or free hosting on FraseCMSWordPress, Google Docs, Contentful and Zapier from Standard
API / MCPMCP server and CLI on every plan; 5,000 / 20,000 / 50,000 API, MCP and CLI requests per monthMCP from Pro; API access on Peace of Mind
Team seats1 / 3 / 5 seats, extra seats $29/mo (Professional and Scale)1 / 3 / 5 / 10 seats (Discovery / Standard / Pro / Peace of Mind)
Sites / brands1 / 5 / 10 domains1 / 1 / 5 brand workspaces, unlimited* on Peace of Mind
Going over limitsStarter stops at its limit; optional pay-as-you-go on Professional and ScaleNot stated on the pricing page
Languages"Write natively in 70+ languages" (Frase homepage)"Works with all languages" (Surfer FAQ)
SupportDedicated account manager and SLA on EnterpriseCustomer support 24h, Mon–Fri, on every plan; personalized onboarding from Pro; dedicated success manager on Peace of Mind
White-labelEnterprise onlyEnterprise
Pricing checkedOct 23, 2026Oct 23, 2026

Pricing and value

Frase is cheaper to start. Starter costs $39 a month billed yearly ($49 month to month), against $49 ($59) for Surfer Discovery. Frase's trial needs no credit card and unlocks Professional's feature set, capped at 5 articles, 50 audit pages, 25 AI prompts and up to 3 seats.

Surfer's plans give you more volume. Discovery includes 120 documents a month, while Frase Starter includes 10 articles. The units aren't the same thing, though. Frase counts finished articles and lists audit pages and AI generations separately. Surfer counts documents you "create or optimize." That makes a direct cost-per-piece comparison misleading.

How billing behaves also differs:

  • Frase: Starter stops at its monthly limits, so there's no surprise bill. On Professional and Scale you can switch on pay-as-you-go: $5 per extra article, $0.50 per audit page and $0.25 per AI prompt on Professional, and $4, $0.40 and $0.20 on Scale. Yearly billing takes 20% off the monthly rate.
  • Surfer: The yearly discount is "up to 17%." Yearly plans are charged upfront, and Surfer says credits on annual plans reset yearly, not monthly. Surfer also sells AI Search Analytics as a standalone plan for $82/mo billed yearly ($95 monthly) if you only want AI visibility tracking.

Edge: Frase for a low entry price and predictable bills. Surfer for raw monthly optimization volume.

Content creation and AI writing

Frase describes its workflow as research first. It studies what already ranks for your topic, then drafts and optimizes the piece in your voice. The result is a finished draft, not an outline. On every plan, an agent can draft and auto-publish any content type once you switch it on, and your monthly article count is the only limit. Each article can include a generated hero image and in-content visuals. From Professional, AI diagrams and infographics are included (20 a month, 50 on Scale), and "omni-channel atomization" turns one piece into posts for other channels.

Surfer gives every writing plan its AI Writing Assistant, Surfy, plus an AI Detector & Humanizer. Plagiarism Check starts at Standard. Brand Knowledge comes in at Standard, and Custom Voices and Custom Templates at Pro (10 templates on Pro, unlimited* on Peace of Mind). These let you shape AI output to a brand.

Neither company publishes independent quality benchmarks on its pricing page. Draft quality will depend on your topic, brief and editing.

Edge: Frase if you want hands-off drafting and publishing. Surfer if you want brand voice controls and a humanizer inside the editor.

Content optimization and SEO scoring

Optimization is Surfer's core product. Its Content Editor gives live guidelines while you write. Surfer says those guidelines are real-time and competition-based, built on an analysis of "over 500 web and AI signals," and its Content Score is on every writing plan. Surfer calls the Content Score "the gold standard in the industry," which is the company's own claim. From Standard you also get 1-click content optimization. From Pro you get 1-click internal linking, which Surfer says inserts up to 10 relevant internal links from your domain.

Frase scores pages for both SEO and GEO (generative engine optimization) on every plan, and you can watch those in-app scores move as you apply fixes. Internal linking suggestions start at Professional.

The two tools score content in different ways, so their numbers can't be compared directly.

Edge: Surfer, for depth of on-page optimization tooling.

Research, briefs and content planning

Frase starts research from your own site with Frase Answers, a free conversational widget (one per site) that captures the questions your visitors ask so you can create content for them. Professional adds a content calendar. Frase's pricing page doesn't list a separate keyword research tool.

Surfer splits research across tiers:

  • Standard: Keyword Research.
  • Pro: Topical Map, for planning content clusters, plus Content Ideas & Coverage Gap and a Cannibalization Report.
  • Peace of Mind: Advanced SERP Analysis (SERP Analyzer).

Edge: Surfer for classic keyword and SERP research. Frase for first-party, question-led ideas from your own visitors.

AI search (GEO) visibility

Both tools now track whether AI engines mention or cite your brand.

  • Frase includes AI Visibility on every plan, with daily monitoring and alerts:
    • Starter: ChatGPT and Google AI, 20 prompts.
    • Professional: adds Perplexity, 50 prompts.
    • Scale: adds Claude and Gemini, 75 prompts.
    • Professional and up also add AI crawler monitoring.
    • Frase notes that AI Visibility monitors and alerts but never auto-fixes content.
  • Surfer has no AI visibility tracking on Discovery:
    • Standard: 25 prompts across ChatGPT, refreshed weekly.
    • Pro: 50 prompts across all models (ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Google AI Overview, Gemini), refreshed daily.
    • Peace of Mind: 100 prompts, refreshed daily.
    • Mention Gap and Brand Sentiment reports start at Pro.
    • The standalone AI Search Analytics plan ($82/mo yearly) gives you 50 daily prompts, Mention Gap and Brand Sentiment, and 5 brand spaces.

Edge: Frase for AI visibility at a lower price. Surfer for prompt volume and competitive reports like mention gaps and sentiment.

Ease of use and workflow

Frase's pricing page centers on a single loop. It finds questions, drafts, publishes to your CMS, audits existing pages, and catches decaying pages with Content Guard. Content Guard writes a fix and republishes it only once you approve, unless you opt in to automatic low-risk fixes.

Surfer's workflow centers on its Content Editor and Content Score. Every plan includes Surfer Academy plus content-optimization and AI search masterclasses, and Pro and up include personalized onboarding.

How quickly a new user gets comfortable isn't something either pricing page documents.

Edge: It depends on your workflow. Frase suits people who want more automation. Surfer suits people who want guided, manual optimization.

Integrations and API

Frase publishes to WordPress, Webflow, Sanity or Wix on every plan. You can also host on FraseCMS, which is free up to 100,000 page views a month, $19/mo for Basic (250,000 views, your own domain or subdirectory, no badge) and $99/mo for Pro (1,000,000 views). Frase also runs inside Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and your terminal through its MCP server and CLI on every plan, with 5,000 to 50,000 requests a month depending on tier.

Surfer integrates with WordPress, Google Docs, Contentful and Zapier from Standard. MCP starts at Pro, and API access is only on Peace of Mind ($299/mo yearly). Data export is included from Pro.

Edge: Frase, for CMS publishing and API/MCP access on every plan.

Team features and scalability

FeatureFraseSurfer
Seats1 / 3 / 5 included, extra seats $29/mo1 / 3 / 5 / 10 included
RolesOwner, Admin, Editor, Viewer (Professional and up)Not stated on the pricing page
CollaborationShared workspaceLive collaboration, comments, folders and external collaboration links from Standard
HistoryCurrent only / 3 / 12 / 24 months of reporting historyContent version history of 1 day / 1 week / 1 month / 6 months; activity log from Standard
Sites1 / 5 / 10 domains1 / 1 / 5 / unlimited* brand workspaces
Client reportingExportable client-ready reports on Scale; white-label on EnterpriseData export from Pro; white-label on Enterprise

Edge: Surfer for collaboration features and seat count at the top tier. Frase for multi-site coverage at a lower price, since Scale gives you 10 domains for $239/mo yearly.

Support

Surfer lists customer support 24h, Monday to Friday, on every plan, a knowledge base, personalized onboarding from Pro and a dedicated customer success manager on Peace of Mind. Frase's pricing page lists dedicated support on the FraseCMS Pro add-on and a dedicated account manager with an SLA on Enterprise. It doesn't describe support levels for its self-serve plans.

Edge: Surfer, based on what each pricing page documents.

Pros and cons

Frase

Pros

  • Lowest entry price: $39/mo billed yearly, with a 7-day trial and no card required
  • AI visibility tracking, CMS publishing and SEO/GEO scores on every plan
  • Starter stops at its limits, so there are no surprise overage charges
  • MCP server, CLI and API requests included on every plan
  • Free FraseCMS hosting up to 100,000 page views a month

Cons

  • Only 10 articles a month on Starter
  • Internal linking suggestions and the content calendar start at Professional
  • White-label reports and a branded client portal are Enterprise-only
  • Pricing page doesn't describe support levels for self-serve plans

Surfer

Pros

  • High document volume: 120 to 360 a month, unlimited* on Peace of Mind
  • Live, competition-based guidelines and Content Score on every writing plan
  • Topical Map, cannibalization report and audit tools on Pro
  • Up to 10 seats and a dedicated success manager on Peace of Mind
  • Works with all languages, according to Surfer

Cons

  • No AI visibility tracking on Discovery, and Standard refreshes prompts only weekly
  • API access only on the $299/mo (yearly) Peace of Mind tier
  • Integrations start at Standard
  • Free start terms aren't spelled out on the pricing page

Who should choose what

Choose Frase if

  • You run one or a few sites and want research, drafting, publishing and monitoring in one tool.
  • You want AI search visibility tracking without paying for a mid-tier plan.
  • You publish to WordPress, Webflow, Sanity or Wix, or want free hosting on FraseCMS.
  • You want predictable bills, since Starter never charges overages.
  • You work inside Claude, ChatGPT or Cursor and want MCP access on a starter plan.

Choose Surfer if

  • Your team optimizes a high volume of new or existing content each month.
  • You want live, SERP-based guidelines and a Content Score in the editor.
  • You need topical maps, cannibalization reports and audits to manage a large site.
  • You need 5 to 10 seats with live collaboration, comments and version history.
  • You want detailed AI visibility reporting, like mention gaps and brand sentiment, across ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI and Gemini.

Choose neither if

You only need a simple AI writer, or you want a lower-cost optimization tool. Start with our Surfer alternatives or the full list of best AI writing tools for SEO.

Other options to consider

  • Scalenut : An all-in-one SEO writing platform. See Frase vs Scalenut.
  • Neuronwriter : A content optimization editor and common Surfer alternative. See NeuronWriter vs Surfer.
  • Koala : An AI article writer. See Koala vs Scalenut.

FAQs

Is Frase better than Surfer?

It depends on how you work. For solo creators and small teams, Frase is usually the better value: it costs less to start and includes AI visibility tracking, CMS publishing and MCP access on every plan. For teams that optimize lots of content, Surfer's document volume, live guidelines and audit tools fit better.

Which is cheaper, Frase or Surfer?

Frase. As of Oct 23, 2026, Frase Starter is $39/mo billed yearly ($49 monthly). Surfer Discovery is $49/mo billed yearly ($59 monthly). At the top self-serve tier, Frase Scale is $239/mo yearly and Surfer Peace of Mind is $299/mo yearly.

Does Frase or Surfer have a free trial?

Frase offers a 7-day free trial with no credit card. It includes Professional's features, capped at 5 articles, 50 audit pages, 25 AI prompts and up to 3 seats. Surfer shows a "Start for Free" button on its plans, but its pricing page doesn't state how long the free start lasts or what it includes.

Do Frase and Surfer track AI search visibility?

Yes. Frase includes AI Visibility on every plan, from ChatGPT and Google AI on Starter up to Claude and Gemini on Scale. Surfer tracks AI visibility from Standard upward, or through its standalone AI Search Analytics plan. Pro and Peace of Mind cover ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Google AI Overview and Gemini with daily refresh.

Which is better for agencies?

Both have an agency path. Frase Scale ($239/mo yearly) covers up to 10 domains and 5 seats, and lets you export client-ready reports. Surfer Peace of Mind ($299/mo yearly) adds unlimited* brand workspaces, 10 seats, API access and a dedicated success manager. White-label reporting is an Enterprise feature on both.

Which is better for beginners?

Frase Starter is a single-seat plan that never charges overages, and its agent can handle drafting and publishing for you. Surfer includes Surfer Academy and two masterclasses on every plan, and its Content Score gives you a single number to work toward. Which feels easier depends on whether you prefer automation or guided editing.

Can I use Frase and Surfer together?

Neither pricing page lists a direct integration between the two. Both connect to WordPress: Frase publishes there directly, and Surfer integrates with it from Standard. Paying for both means paying for overlapping features, so most people pick one.

What languages do Frase and Surfer support?

Surfer says it "works with all languages" and keeps a full list in its knowledge base. Frase says on its homepage that it can "write natively in 70+ languages." Neither publishes quality comparisons by language, so test your own language before committing.

Final verdict

Frase and Surfer now overlap more than ever. Both draft with AI, score content and track AI search visibility. The difference is in how they package it.

  • Frase is the better value for solo creators, freelancers and small teams. You get drafting, CMS publishing, SEO/GEO scores and AI visibility tracking from $39/mo billed yearly, and you can try it free for 7 days without a card.
  • Surfer fits content teams and agencies whose main job is optimizing content at volume. You get live, competition-based guidelines, 120 to unlimited* documents a month, audits, topical maps and stronger collaboration features, starting at $49/mo billed yearly.

If you're unsure, start with the free Frase trial: it costs nothing and needs no card. Move to Surfer if you find you need more optimization volume.

Notes

  1. Unlimited as marked by Surfer on its pricing page; Surfer does not define the limits on that page.

Sources

How we research these pages: How we test.